top of page
Search

Bridge vs Ferry

Working on an island means every day you have to choose to use the bridge or ferry to reach your office.


People say that it is faster if you travel by bridge because you have to wait for a certain time if u go for the ferry. By the way, estimation time for travel to the island via ferry is around 30 minutes to 1.5 hours & it depends on your luck. The ferry presence is also unpredictable. So, in general, it will test ur level of patience.


Travel by bridge is also convenience. It offers shorter travel time but if there is an accident on the bridge, or even near the bridge, it might delay your travel time, sometimes for hours.


At the beginning of the working phase, I'm a bit anxious bcoz I can't stand to wait for the ferry to come. So, I'd rather face the traffic jam on the bridge than waiting for the ferry to come.


But as time goes by, since I thought traffic jam affect my vehicle fuel usage, I tried to travel via ferry. First few days were a bit difficult bcoz I didn't have the patience to wait for uncertainty. But then, I tried to appreciate the time available while waiting for the ferry. I realized that I can do a lot of things while waiting for the ferry, exp; watch YouTube videos, read books, open up my laptop n finish up my works, and even take a nap if I'm too sleepy. The sound of the wave and the scenic ocean view is also so refreshing and a form of therapy for me to start a new day. For the time being, those gap of time becomes the time that I wait for every morning.


I began to appreciate the waiting period. I read somewhere that patience is not about the ability to wait but it is about the ability to keep a good attitude while waiting.


Sometimes, we are too rush on something until we didn't appreciate the moment. Yes, the future is a mystery but we need to learn to rely on Allah, the Most Knowing, Al-A'lim.


So, I guess waiting for the ferry is a blessing in disguise. ⛴️ 🌊🌊🌊 .



p/s : this post was written in my private Instagram account around August 2019. I am willing to share it with the public to share this point of view.


Just to let you know, this Rapid ferry service has ended at the end of 2020. Currently, it has changed to a water boat. I really miss riding this old ferry. Being in the passenger area help me clear up my mind, let me drown in the remarkable scenery of the open sea.


Best,

Nasiha

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page